Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in California
To become an unarmed security guard in California, there are a few requirements you must meet.
- Must be at least 18 years old
- Criminal background check through the California Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigations
- 40 hours of courses by a certified training security (eight hours before being assigned, 16 within the first 30 days of assignment, and 16 hours within the first six months of being assigned)
- Fingerprinting via Live Scan ($32.00 DOJ fingerprint processing and a $19.00 FBI processing fee)
There is a $50 registration fee. Once you have completed your application and submitted fingerprinting, you must send your California security guard licensing application package to the Bureau of Security and Investigative Services.
Armed Security Guard Requirements in California
To become an armed security guard in California, you must complete a firearm application to receive an armed license, which must be renewed every two years. Applicants must re-qualify four times during the life of the permit: twice during the first year after the date of issuance and twice during the second year. Re-qualification must be at least four months apart and must be valid throughout your period of employment. Armed security guard requirements in California also include an additional 14-hour California armed security guard training course, which will cover the following:
- Moral and legal aspects
- Firearms nomenclature
- Weapon handling and shooting fundamentals
- Emergency procedures
- Range training
Fees for an armed security guard license in California totals $135.
Licensing Body: California Department of Consumer Affairs – Bureau of Security and Investigative Services
Law: Chapter 11.4, California Private Security Services Act, California Code of Regulations