How to Become a Security Guard in Florida


Unarmed and Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Florida

Florida, often referred to as the Sunshine State, is the eighth most densely populated state in the U.S. Whether it’s the sandy beaches that line the coast or Walt Disney World, which attracts nearly 20 million visitors per year, Florida is a prime vacation spot for people of all ages. The state’s large population paired with thousands of tourists creates a strong need for security guards with proper training.

Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Florida

To begin your career as an unarmed security guard in Florida, you must become licensed by the Florida Department of Agriculture. Unarmed security guard requirements in Florida are below. Applicants must:

  • be a U.S. citizen or legal resident with an issued social security number
  • be at least 18 years of age
  • submit to fingerprinting
  • successfully complete class D and 40-hour security guard training
  • submit a notarized application to the Florida Division of Licensing
  • submit two passport-style photos

Classroom training for the class D unarmed security guard license will include topics such as legal issues, proper emergency response, patrol procedures, and more. Fees for licensing total $87.

Armed Security Guard Requirements in Florida

To become an armed security guard in Florida, you first complete state-required armed security guard training to be hired by a licensed agency. Your armed license must be renewed every two years. Armed security guard requirements in Florida include:

  • must be at least 21 years old
  • must file an application with the division
  • submission of a fingerprint set on a standard FBI fingerprint card
  • must not have been convicted of any felony and/or misdemeanor involving theft, drug offenses, or moral turpitude
  • must successfully complete the state-required 28-hour armed training course

Some of the topics to be covered in the training course include:

  • Firearm safety and mechanics
  • Fundamentals of shooting
  • Civil liability and use of force
  • Use of deadly force
  • Handgun marksmanship
  • Care and maintenance of firearms
  • Other required armed security guard training

Each year, licensees must also submit proof that he or she has received a minimum of four hours of firearms re-certification training and complied with any other health and training requirements. The licensing fees total $154.

Licensing Body: Florida Department of Agriculture, Florida Division of Licensing

Law: Florida State Statutes Chapter 493: Florida Division of Licensing, Florida State Statutes Chapter 790, Florida State Statutes Chapter 776

Become a Guard

Now hiring security guards in New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. Read the requirements and apply online. Learn More

Contact Us
We're here 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

For an immediate response, call (877) 477-9638.