How to Become a Security Guard in Nevada


Unarmed and Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Nevada

Nevada is home to Las Vegas, Lake Tahoe, the Hoover Dam, Reno, Death Valley, and many other tourist destinations and major cities. Las Vegas alone attracts more than 40 million visitors each year. The state also houses many universities that make up some of the largest employers in the state. These are just a few reasons why the Silver State is always in need of security guards within every type of industry.

Unarmed Security Guard Requirements in Nevada

To become an unarmed security guard in Nevada, one must first get a registration card from Nevada’s private investigator licensing board. While no training is required prior to applying, there is a written exam to complete with submission. To become an unarmed security guard in Nevada, applicants must submit:

  • a completed application
  • a signed and dated civil applicant waiver
  • a passport-sized photo
  • copies of forms of identification (U.S. passport or a copy of both your driver’s license and social security card)
  • fingerprints via electronic submission form
  • security guard exam with a score of 100 percent

Unarmed security guard applicants can expect it to take up to 10 days to receive license approval. Fees range from $85 to $129, depending on how you submit your fingerprints and whether you wish to expedite the process.

Armed Security Guard Requirements in Nevada

To become an armed security guard in Nevada, you must have a registration card and have passed the security guard exam with a score of 100 percent. There is additional firearms training that is required, too.  Once all requirements are met, the private investigating licensing board will issue your registration card and firearms permit. Applicants must:

  • be at least 21 years of age
  • be a U.S. citizen or legal alien
  • hold a valid social security number
  • have no felony convictions or any crime involving the illegal use of weapons
  • successfully pass a background check
  • submit a passport photo
  • hold a Nevada driver’s license
  • submit two fingerprint cards

Once firearms training has been completed with a certified instructor, a firearms certification card is administered. The card is valid for five years with the requirement of passing a firing range test with a score of at least 75 percent every six months.

Licensing Body: Nevada Private Investigator’s Licensing Board

Law: Chapter 648

Become a Guard

Now hiring security guards in New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania. Read the requirements and apply online. Learn More

Contact Us
We're here 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

For an immediate response, call (877) 477-9638.